Asian Coleslaw

13 Jul

 

Ingredients for the salad: Cabbage, carrots, white or yellow onions, scallions, cucumber, fresh basil, fresh mint, jalapeño, and roasted peanuts.

Ingredients for the dressing: Mayonnaise, seasoned rice vinegar, soy sauce, fish sauce, Sriracha red pepper sauce, fresh lime juice, sea salt, honey, and unsweetened peanut butter.

This salad was inspired by the salad rolls from Pho Van Vietnamese Restaurant. The ingredients go well together and I love the fresh flavor. To save time, I start with pre-packaged shredded cabbage and carrots. I use half a yellow onion, four scallions, half a cucumber, and one seeded jalapeño (so the kids can still enjoy it). Equal parts basil and mint suits my taste.

For the dressing, I whisk into 2/3 cup mayonnaise, a tablespoon of soy sauce, the juice of one fresh lime, a teaspoon of fish sauce, two tablespoons of seasoned rice vinegar, half a tablespoon of honey, a tablespoon of unsweetened creamy peanut butter, and as much SSriracha spicy red pepper sauce as I can handle. For my palate, this is a well-balanced sweet, salty, and spicy ratio. Toss the dressing over the salad and add roasted peanuts to each serving.

This makes a lot and it only gets better as the flavors marry. It’s great served as a replacement to white rice if you are watching your carb intake and is particularly delicious with BBQ chicken, pork, and shrimp.

Experiment: Differ the amounts of onions, scallions, jalapeño, bean sprouts, and herbs or add more or less Sriracha to the dressing to make it as spicy as you like.

8 Responses to “Asian Coleslaw”

  1. amy reed July 17, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    um…yum. love the idea to substitute for rice. we are always looking to replace the carb intake. looks like there’s a lot of ingredients i’ll be learning about here. yay mindy.

  2. Jeana July 17, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    I can’t wait to try this!

  3. Bekah July 20, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    This looks so good. Can’t wait to try it! I love that you have a blog Min! Thank you for sharing your recipes!

  4. Vicki July 20, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Mindy,
    I’m so happy to find this site! SO glad you’re going to bless us with your talents. I’ve tried several of your recipes via Mel and always loved them. Will really enjoy gleaning from your experience. Just as a thought, if you happen to have a favorite ingredient brand- maybe because of quality, or low expense… you could share that. Some less experienced cooks could really appreciate that input.
    Looking forward to your recipes 🙂

    • Mindy July 21, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      that’s a great idea Vicki! I’ll see how I can add that kind of information in 🙂 thanks for checking out the blog

      • Judy Maguire July 23, 2010 at 8:31 am #

        I made your Asian Coleslaw last night. I topped it with shrimp, Mike gave it a 10!!!

      • Judy Maguire July 23, 2010 at 8:33 am #

        Mindy, love your blog! How much mint & basil did you use in your Asian Coleslaw? I added some cilantro because my mint didn’t seem to have much flavor.

  5. Mindy July 23, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    Judy. I bet the cilantro was great in this 🙂 If I recall, I used about 8-10 basil leaves, and maybe 6-8 mint leaves minced. Of course, you can add more or less to your liking. That’s what I love about this salad. thanks for visiting the blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

