Cold Creamed Cocoa (sugar-free)

19 Jul

Ingredients: Unsweetened chocolate squares, unsweetened creamy peanut butter or almond butter, coconut oil, milk, vanilla extract, honey, old fashioned rolled oats, and Cream of Wheat.

You’ll need two sauce pans and a square or rectangle shaped baking dish (preferably glass) to start.

In one saucepan melt together, over low heat, two ounces of unsweetened chocolate, 3/4 cup unsweetened creamy peanut butter or unsweetened almond butter, two tablespoons of organic coconut oil, 3/4 cup honey, and about 1/3 cup of milk. Sometimes, if it is seeming too thick as it melts, I’ll add a bit more milk. The consistency should be more like a sauce and less like a batter.

At the same time that the chocolate sauce is melting, bring 1 1/2 cups milk to boil over medium heat in the second saucepan. Then, slowly stir in three tablespoons of Cream of Wheat (also called farina), until it returns to a boil. Then reduce the heat to low, stir in half a cup of oats, and let it thicken for several minutes.

Lastly, combine the two saucepans to one and then pour it all into the baking dish. Let it cool on the counter until it’s just warm. Then place it in the refrigerator to set for at least an hour before serving.

I like to top each serving with a dollop of Zoi Greek Yogurt (honey sweetened) on top.

Experiment: Try different sweeteners like agave nectar, more or less honey, black strap molasses, whipped frozen banana, etc. Add something other than oats for texture. Substitute almond milk or soy milk for regular milk.

16 Responses to “Cold Creamed Cocoa (sugar-free)”

  1. ian July 19, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    Being off of (refined) sugar, this dessert is a lifesaver for a sweet-tooth like me!

  2. Elisabeth July 19, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    love. serious love. you rock Mindy.

  3. fromthebalcony July 19, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    Mindy (I’m a Compassion AC!) Is it possible to use something besides cream of wheat for gluten-free? It’s such a great recipe. Have you tried quinoa or teff?? Another filler grain?

  4. Mindy July 19, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    Thanks for viewing my blog ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have not tried a gluten free version of this…however, anything that resembles the consistency of cream of wheat would probably work. Creamed rice, quinoa or teff….

    I’d love to hear what you come up with!

  5. fromthebalcony July 19, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    Mindy
    This is Kathy again – I will see if I can figure out a gluten free version . It sounds wonderful!

  6. ian July 19, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Ian: Cold creamed cocoa.
    The kids: Lord have mercy.

  7. Mark W July 19, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    Love the site! Both of the recipes look so good and original. thank you. Can’t wait for next week!

  8. Sarah July 20, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Wow, this is great!!! Thanks so much for sending this my way!!! I am so excited!

  9. Sarah Johnson July 20, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Yeah!! I love this blog & feel like you made it just for me!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ This last recipe is somewhat similar to the one you emailed me, but slightly different. I’ll have to try it. I always am trying to glean from your cooking skills so this is a great way to do it! It helps me think more creatively. Thanks!

  10. Briana July 20, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    Mindy,
    Went cookbook browsing last week, didn’t find what I was looking for. Cool, health(ier) recipes, that would broaden our table. Then I realized, I can just subscribe to your new blog. No pressure ๐Ÿ™‚ but I’m looking forward to gleaning from your fun and expertise.

  11. Jacqi July 20, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    This is great Mindy! I look forward to more recipes!

  12. Tes July 21, 2010 at 4:59 am #

    Wow this looks so amazing, Mindy! It looks so yummy I can’t believe it’s sugar free ๐Ÿ™‚ yummm

  13. Mindy July 21, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    thanks to all for checking out this recipe ๐Ÿ™‚ It is really as yummy as it looks. I have a hard time not eating it all day long!

  14. Colleen Saison July 26, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    Thanks Mindy for sharing your talent with us. I tried this today and it is delicious.

    For a gluten free version: try this 1 cup milk, 1 beaten egg, 2 tbs minute tapioca, 1 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup flax. I cooked the tapioca in the microwave, added the oatmeal and flax and then cooked it some more to thicken. It turned out to be a similar consistency as the wheat version. To my gluten free friends, let me know how it worked! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Mindy July 28, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    Colleen! Fantastic! Way to go out on your own and make it so that your family can enjoy it and not feel ucky ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the idea of the minute tapioca. I might have to get some of that for our kitchen….

  16. Briana August 5, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    Joseph Jr. reading over my shoulder as I write down the indgredients for my list…
    Joseph Jr. “cold creamed cocoa sugar… what!?! long pause… oh I get it. Huh.”
    I have to laugh. He had to pause to “get it”.

Leave a Reply

