Savory Cilantro Sauce

2 Aug

Ingredients: Cilantro, jalapeño, lime, olive oil, onion, garlic, sugar, sea salt, avocado, and water.

Note: This recipe makes a lot.  (We’re a family of seven and we like “green sauce” on almost everything!) So you may consider halving or quartering this recipe.  The picture above shows about a fourth of what this recipe will make.

Either a standard blender or food processor work really well for making this sauce nice and smooth.

First, I put three jalapeños in my blender. (I remove the majority of the seeds from them but leave some so it has some kick.) Then I add two big bunches of well-washed cilantro, the juice from 2 1/2 limes, 3/4 cup of olive oil, six cloves of garlic, half an onion, half a tablespoon of sugar, about one tablespoon of sea salt, 2/3 cup of water, and one avocado. I let it blend until it’s the consistency of a smoothie. Then I give it a taste to see if it needs more salt or lime juice.

This sauce is SO versatile! It’s great with tortilla chips or served along side any Mexican dish. It also pairs well with Asian dishes. I like it over fried rice to add a bit of spice. It’s delicious over grilled chicken or with fish. I’ve also mixed it with a bit of mayonnaise and buttermilk for a salad dressing. I’ve even had it over certain egg dishes for breakfast!

Experiment: Try adding more garlic cloves, if you’re a big garlic fan. Or, if you like really spicy stuff, add more of the jalapeño seeds. Green chilies could also be used to add a different twist.

19 Responses to “Savory Cilantro Sauce”

  1. Tami Winters August 2, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    This sauce is SOOOOOOOOOOOO good!!! 🙂

    Thanks Mindy! 🙂

  2. Elise August 2, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Is this the famous green sauce I’ve heard so much about?? I can’t wait to try it! I’m so happy about your blog, Mindy, way to go!!

  3. Mindy August 2, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    Thanks Tami and Elise 🙂 I’d love to hear what you eat the sauce with!

  4. Colleen August 2, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    Oh my goodness!! This looks so incredible! I can’t wait to try this! Mindy, I love your blog. I’ve decided it’s the next best thing to coming and humbly sitting at your feet while you cook.

    • Mindy August 2, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

      Colleen..you make me smile and laugh 🙂 you are always welcome in our kitchen.

      • Colleen August 3, 2010 at 10:57 am #

        This makes my heart swell with joy.

  5. Karl August 2, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    That’s some pretty amazing stuff! We had it with fish tacos tonight and it was perfect. On caveat: I’d say you should halve or quarter the amounts if you’re making it for just two. We might be eating that stuff for a week!

    • Mindy August 2, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

      Glad you guys tried it Karl. Good point about the proportions…I’m usually cooking for 7! Have fun experimenting with what else to put the sauce on!

  6. Elisabeth August 3, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Min–I am so excited about this sauce! I ran out of lime juice (only had 2) but used a Tbsp or so of vinegar instead and it turned out so yummy. I also added almost all of the seeds from the jalapenos (slowly) and got a nice kick to it. 🙂 Thanks friend!

  7. Brittany August 6, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    This (oh so trying to stay) Vegan says, “YAY!!!!”

    • Mindy August 6, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

      Hey Britt! Stay tuned for more Vegan things to come 🙂 We are not, but I often times cook like we are.

      • Brittany August 7, 2010 at 6:46 am #

        Yea, I’ve fallen off the wagon with it…it’s a little difficult when 4 other people in the family aren’t. And when it comes to ice cream, I have no will-power…lol!

  8. Gourmet Gorman August 9, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    This also looks amazing… 🙂

  9. Elisabeth August 11, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Noticed the list of ingredients says onion, but no mention of how much…am I missing something? Made it for the second time today. So delish–Jon and I ate the first batch in a matter of days! You can smell us coming a mile away.

  10. Brooke August 11, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    Delish! We LOVE it.

  11. mindy August 11, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Sorry all! I usually use about 1/2 a sweet onion 🙂 forgot to put that in the post.
    ~mindy

    • ian August 12, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

      And I updated the recipe with the 1/2 onion.

  12. Heather August 30, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    This is so yummy! I’ve made it twice now, and it will now be a regular!

    • Mindy August 30, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

      Glad you are liking it Heather 🙂

Leave a Reply

