Herb & Garlic Hummus

30 Aug

Ingredients: Garbanzo beans, tahini, olive oil, whole lemon, sea salt, mixed ground peppercorns, water, garlic, white wine vinegar, Italian parsley, basil, and Greek oregano.

Don’t let the number of ingredients deter you from trying this! It’s really simple to make.

Start with two cans of garbanzo beans in a colander. Rinse them well with cold water. Then pour them into a food processor and add 1/4 cup of tahini, 3/4 cup olive oil, 1/2 cup of water, one whole lemon (peeled and seeded), one teaspoon sea salt, lots of fresh ground mixed peppercorns, eight cloves raw garlic, a splash of white wine vinegar, a handful of Italian leaf parsley, nine fresh basil leaves, and a couple leaves of Greek oregano.

Blend it till you reach the consistency you like. My family eats this with everything! Try it as a dip with fresh cut veggies of all kinds. Or as a spread on sandwiches or wraps instead of mayonnaise. Serve it with warm grilled pita or on cracker bread with deli meat. Or put a heaping spoonful on a salad instead of dressing.

Experiment: Try varying proportions of herbs, sea salt, garlic, lemon, and peppercorns. Or try adding other herbs you like. You could also try adding roasted garlic instead of raw or roasted red pepper, pine nuts, dried herbs instead of fresh… The possibilities are endless.

4 Responses to “Herb & Garlic Hummus”

  1. Kristen September 6, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    I like making my own hummus. I will also often add paprika. I’ve never used vinegar…but may give that a try sometime. I am really enjoying your blog. You have great ideas!

  2. Mindy September 6, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    ooo, I love paprika 🙂 I’ll have to try that kristen! thanks for the idea.

  3. Anna Burnham October 4, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    I also use some plain yogurt. I think it makes it creamier and I like the texture. I think I’m going to use half your recipe-half my recipe to see what I can get! I’ve never used basil or parsley! Yum!

  4. Mindy October 6, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    Anna, I really like the idea of a touch of plain yogurt. thanks for the tip 🙂

Leave a Reply

